Go deeper into the history of each park with scholarly articles and essays from Oxford University Press, freely available for the centennial year.

Oxford Reference

Channel Islands

Archipelago off the coast of northwest *France, comprising the islands of Jersey, Guernsey, Alderney, Brechou, Great Sark, Little Sark, Herm, Jethou, and Lihou. Formerly part of *Normandy, the islands remained under the direct control of the English crown after the loss of Normandy in 1204, with a warden appointed to the defence of the islands, collection of ducal revenues, and administration of the lay courts. The islands remained under French ecclesiastical control (diocese of Coutances) until taken into the jurisdiction of *Winchester in 1568.

Learn More →